Amanda Chase

Printer-friendly version

Title: Admissions Advisor
Education: BA in Psychology from Hamilton College, MS in Counseling from the University of Vermont
Current Place of Residence: Winooski, VT
Hometown: Chappaqua, NY

Bio: Amanda is a former school counselor, and worked in several local high schools before coming to Burlington College Admissions. She has a passion for making meaningful connections with students as they discover their paths. Having come to Vermont for graduate school, Amanda fell in love with the Burlington area and decided to stick around. She was just married in Huntington, Vermont, and lives in Winooski with her wife Brit and their cat, Kevin.

What do you like most about Burlington College?
The close-knit relationships between students, administrators, faculty, and staff. My office is only steps away from the president, as well as classrooms. Everyone is accessible, friendly, and working toward common goals of making our community and college better places to be and providing opportunities for knowledge and growth.

As for the campus itself, I'm so excited about the potential for our building, beach, and acres of land. We have one of the most beautiful properties in Burlington, and a building that holds so much history. I can't wait to have big community spaces, a new dorm, a camera on the cupola that shows our 360 degree view of Burlington and the Adirondacks, and more.

Where can we find you when you’re not working? What’s your favorite way to spend a weekend or a Sunday afternoon?
I also love spending time with my family, friends, and Burlington College co-workers by taking advantage of everything Vermont has to offer - local festivals and events, playing in the snow, exploring the old Burlington College building, enjoying nearby restaurants, apple picking and corn mazes, etc. I also love to be outside. Whether it be road biking around Chittenden County, camping and canoeing in the Adirondacks, or downhill skiing at one of the local mountains, you can probably find me outdoors. I'm currently striving to fit mountain biking into my busy travel season -- you may spot my bike wedged into the back of my rental car, along with the brochures and pamphlets. 

Provide an interesting or random fact about yourself.
Though I love being outside, I'm also kind of a geek. I love computers, tinkering, and lifehacks. I'm trying to put together a basement workshop where I can brew beer, create my workbench, and tinker on my bikes.